Religious Formation Conference

The Religious Formation Conference (RFC) is a national Roman Catholic organization serving religious institutes of women and men with programs and services for those in the ministry of initial and lifelong formation, and general congregational membership.

Facebook Twitter

Member Areas

Member Areas play a crucial role in advancing RFC’s mission. They serve to:

  • foster support, community, and networking among those in formation ministry;
  • facilitate opportunities for members to participate in workshops pertinent to initial formation, lifelong formation, and the ongoing preparation of formators;
  • strengthen the relationship between members, local congregations/provinces/monasteries, and the National Office by serving as a conduit of information, feedback, best practices and the like.

Member Areas are configured to maximize engagement and participation. Characteristics include:

  • 11 Member Areas dispersed nationally,
  • geographic hubs anchored by population centers,
  • open boundaries/borders so as to maximize networking, connection and collaboration, and
  • the option for members to choose which Member Area/s they wish to affiliate

Member Areas attend to the formative journeys of those in religious life. They embody this by:

  • cultivating safe and sacred spaces for formator support, community-building, connection and networking;
  • discerning and implementing programs that meet their needs and address issues, topics, and best practices important to them;
  • engaging the three dimensions of the Conference's mission: initial formation, lifelong (ongoing) formation, and the ongoing preparation of formators;
  • participating in communal prayer, faith-sharing, and spiritual development; and
  • utilizing technology (e.g., Zoom, Facebook groups, blogs, live-streaming, etc.) to enhance connection, dialogue and collaboration 
Member Area Member Area Liaisons Population Hubs
Delaware Valley

Megan Brown, RSM (mbrown@mercymidatlantic.org)

Philadelphia
Heartland

Cathy Arnold, OP (CArnold@oppeace.org)

St. Louis/Kansas City
Hudson Valley

Elaine Bebyn, MPF (srelaine@villawalsh.org)

New York/New Jersey
Lake Erie/Ohio Valley

Elaine Davia, CBS (Elaine_Davia@bshsi.org)
Sharon Cahill, HM (scahill@humilityofmary.org)

Pittsburgh/Cleveland
Mid-Atlantic

Eileen Campbell, RSM (ecampbell@sistersofmercy.org)

Washington DC/Baltimore
Midwest

David Hirt, OFM Cap (brodavid@thecapuchins.org)
Marsha Speth, SP (mspeth@spsmw.org)

Chicago/Milwaukee
New England

Frank Hargerty, SSE (hagertysse@gmail.com)
Michelle Bisaillon, DHS (dhsjoy@live.com)

Boston
Pacific Northwest

Beverly Dunn, SP (bkdunn@aol.com)

Seattle/Portland
South

Helen Marie Miksch, CDP (hmiksch@cdptexas.org)
Loretta Armand, SHSp (lorettaarmand@hotmail.com)

San Antonio/Dallas/New Orleans
Upper Midwest

Elena Hoye, PBVM (formation@dubuquepresentations.org)
Lisa Maurer, OSB (srlisa@duluthosb.org)

Dubuque/Minneapolis
West Coast

Regina Robbins, SND (rrobins@sndca.org)

San Francisco/Los Angeles

Staff liaison to Member Areas is Ryan Hoffmann, Associate Director. Questions and inquiries can be directed to him via email at rhoffmann@relforcon.org or by phone at 773.675.8362.

 

RFC

5401 S. Cornell Ave. Suite 304
Chicago, IL 60615
Phone: 773.675.8362
Email: rfc@relforcon.org
Facebook Twitter

Membership Opportunities

Religious Community Membership
Associate Membership
Individual Membership

Click here